On becoming a better writer than I am today.

Writing is not one of my natural gifts or abilities. High school creative writing class was my hell. I managed it well. Drafts. Early submissions. Edits. Revisions.

Chicagoland Writing Centers, University of California San Diego

Chicagoland Writing Centers, University of California San Diego

When I went to college for Paralegal studies, I was happy to learn it was time to kick that style to the curb.

Facts only? You got it.

Short, concise and emotionally disconnected? No problem.

From passed legal and professional experience I know I can relay factual information and data to people, however I want to be able to deliver a more personal message.

In this program, I want to learn how to take ownership of what I have to say. Excuse the corny-ness… but I want to find my voice.

 I want to learn how to convey emotion and feeling in my writing. I want to express things in a way that resonates with readers. I want my words to have the power to encourage, to motivate and to connect people.

I know it’s possible for me to achieve the above.

But Ikeep-calm-and-write think with me, it’s a matter of just relaxing and taking a breath.

I get caught up in my head.

I over think the writing process.

My thoughts don’t make it to the pen or keyboard.

I compare my writing to others and I become extremely self-critical.

Here’s to learning, letting go, and gaining confidence.

– MC

 

Leave a Reply

